Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Pirates Making Off-season Moves

By Matt Hall, Student Reporter

On Monday, the Pirates reportedly agreed with Jung-ho Kang (Korean baseball player) to a 4 year deal with an option of a fifth year for about 16 million dollars.  The deal will be confirmed if Kang passes the physical which is planned for Thursday.  His Korean team will stop in Arizona for spring training while Kang goes the whole way to Pittsburgh.  Speaking of spring training, there are only 35 days until the Pirates' pitchers and catchers report to Florida.  Alright, back to Kang.  He hit 40 home runs last year with a batting average of about .360.   That’s all I know about Kang so see you later!

Tuesday, January 06, 2015

Baseball Hall of Fame Selections Today

By Matt Hall, Student Reporter

This afternoon at 2:00 the Baseball Hall of Fame class of 2015 will be announced. Included in this ballot are Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz, Gary Sheffield, Nomar Garciaparra, and Craig Biggio. 

Just so you know, players need at least 75% of the votes to get voted in.  On July 26, whoever gets voted in will be at the induction ceremony in Cooperstown, New York.

My picks that will be in the Hall of Fame are Randy Johnson and Pedro Martinez.  I chose these two people because they both were amazingly good pitchers.

You've now had my prediction, but we’ll find out later today. See you later with a couple of new players in the Baseball Hall of Fame!

Sunday, January 04, 2015

This Week in Pittsburgh Pirates History - January 4-10

This week in Pittsburgh Pirates history -

January 7

2009      Selling the last of his remaining shares in the Pirates, Kevin McClatchy ends his 13-year relationship with the team. After local ownership failed to materialize in 1996, the former managing general partner made sure the struggling club would stay in Pittsburgh by finding shareholders and securing the cash needed to buy the franchise.

January 10

1957      Commissioner Ford Frick allows Bing Crosby, part of an 11-man syndicate that made a successful bid to buy the Tigers, to keep his token stock in the Detroit club although he is part owner of the Pirates. The famous crooner, who became one of the Buc's owners in 1946, presently has a 16% share of the club.

Sunday, December 28, 2014

This Week in Pittsburgh Pirates History - December 28-January 3

This week in Pittsburgh Pirates history -

December 28
1958 Topps

1957      In a trade of first basemen, the Reds swap Ted Kluszewski to the Pirates for Dee Fondy.

December 30

1943      In a trade of the Babes in Pennsylvania, the Phillies send first baseman Babe Dahlgren to the Pirates for catcher Babe Phelps and cash. Dahlgren will be best remembered for being the player who replaced Lou Gehrig after the 'Iron Horse' had played in major-league record 2,130 consecutive games.

1973 Topps Robert Clemente - last card
December 31

1972      Pirate outfielder Roberto Clemente is tragically killed when a cargo plane crashes during a relief effort to bring much needed supplies to the victims of the Nicaraguan earthquake.  He was 38 years old.

January 1

1911      Hall of Fame first baseman Hank Greenberg, who played for the Pirates in 1947, was born. 

January 2

1918      In a deal which includes two future Hall of Famers, the Dodgers trade outfielder Casey Stengel and infielder George Cutshaw to the Pirates for pitchers Burleigh Grimes, Al Mamaux and infielder Chuck Ward. Grimes, known as Ol' Stubblebeard, and Stengel, dubbed The Old Perfessor, will both be enshrined in Cooperstown.          

1951      All-star third baseman Bill Madlock was born. 

1933 Goudey Gus Suhr
January 3

1974      The Yankees sign Bill Virdon as the team's manager. Although the former Pirate skipper will manage for two years in New York, he will never win a game at Yankee Stadium because the Bronx Bombers will play their home games at Shea due to renovations at the stadium.

1906      Gus Suhr, considered by some as the best first baseman in team history, was born.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

1909 E92 Dockman and Sons Gum

1909 E92 Dockman and Sons Gum Pittsburgh Pirates

Once cataloged as a part of the E92 compendium, the John Dockman and Sons Gum card issue differs from the Croft's Candy/Cocoa sets in that it has 10 fewer cards. Otherwise the format (1-1/2" x 2-3/4") and color litho player pictures are identical. Beneath the player picture on the front is his last name, position and team. Backs, which describe the set is having 50 cards, are an ad for the gum company.

See the 1909 E92 Dockman and Sons Gum Pittsburgh Pirates

Baseball Reference

Baseball Almanac

Card Values

Team Set Checklist

1909 Dockman & Sons E92 - Pirates 
Dots Miller Batting 
George Gibson 
Honus Wagner Batting
Honus Wagner Throwing